Cymraeg |  BSL | Jump to content |  Text Only |  Change font size  A A A
Page last updated on 26/2/2009
Welsh Food Hygiene Awards 

The award aims to give recognition to food premises that have attained and maintained high standards of cleanliness and food hygiene practices.

The scheme has three levels of award:

  • Gold
  • Silver
  • Bronze

To view the current award list please click on the Welsh Hygiene Award link in the download section.

Please note: The award given to food premises on this site has been based on the latest inspection carried out by the food safety team and as such it represents the situation as found by the officer on the day of that inspection.

Therefore the award may not be representative of the overall long-term standards of the premises.

How are the awards granted?

The award is given at the discretion of the Council following an unannounced inspection. The level of award is determined by the success in meeting standards in the following:

  • Good food hygiene practices
  • Structure
  • Confidence in management
  • Food hygiene training
  • H.A.C.C.P. (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points)

NB To be considered for an award the business must be involved in the sale or preparation of high risk food.

How long does the award last?

The award is valid until the next inspection when conditions will be re-assessed.

If standards are maintained the award may be kept or if higher standards are achieved a higher level of award will be granted.

If standards have fallen the award may not be renewed or it may be reduced to a lower grade. If there is a change of ownership, the award will no longer be valid.